Início / Esta página
The Chamber of Deputies is the House before most bills are laid, where the larger debates and decisions of national importance are centralized.


The legislative branch of government plays an indispensable role in society, since it has three main functions for the consolidation of democracy: represents the Brazilian people, legislates on national issues and oversees the use of public resources. 

In this context, the Chamber of Deputies discusses and approves proposals for economic and social areas such as Education, Health, Transport, Housing, without neglecting the proper use, by the Powers of the Union, of the taxes collected from the population. 


The Chamber of Deputies is composed of representatives of all Brazilian States and the Federal District, resulting in a Parliament with a variety of ideas and revealing a plural Legislative House.


Below, we list some of the basic features of the Chamber:

  • Composed by 513 deputies
  • Representatives elected according to proportional electoral system (State’s population)
  • Minimum of 8 Representatives per State and the Federal District (e.g. Acre)
  • Maximum of 70 Representatives per State (e.g. São Paulo)
  • Mandate of four year-term, coinciding with the legislature